|
Prev: Garage Night new video: Suspension overhaul starts with Dremel on a lathe
Next: Help needed - Sydney
From: alx on 19 Feb 2010 09:34 On Feb 19, 6:50 pm, "George W Frost" <georgewfr...(a)gmail.com> wrote: > > Aha !!! > > Now it becomes evident, that you qwill not be getting any money without > first depositing $750 into his ... > > read more » Yes, classed as (variation of) Advance Fee fraud scheme. Had me scratching my head as to what the angle would be. And no, I would not be getting any money anyway. The con is receiving a fake Paypal payment notification, being for the purchase of a bike I have listed for sale. Part 2 of the con is coercing me to forward on the excess amount of the supposedly received funds via Western Union. Perhaps I'll just rejig the fake paypal notification and send it back to 'em. Or google: MTCN receipt gilbert ..amazing what you can find :-) I trust this thread serves as a resource for anyone else selling a bike. (On ebay is a whole other adventure..not going anywhere near that corporatised, lawless dump for such a transaction).
From: alx on 19 Feb 2010 09:59 On Feb 20, 1:34 am, alx <alxr...(a)gmail.com> wrote: > On Feb 19, 6:50 pm, "George W Frost" <georgewfr...(a)gmail.com> wrote: > > > > > Aha !!! > > > Now it becomes evident, that you qwill not be getting any money without > > first depositing $750 into his ... > > > read more » > > Yes, classed as (variation of) Advance Fee fraud scheme. Had me > scratching my head as to what the angle would be. > > And no, I would not be getting any money anyway. > > The con is receiving a fake Paypal payment notification, being for the > purchase of a bike I have listed for sale. Part 2 of the con is > coercing me to forward on the excess amount of the supposedly received > funds via Western Union. > > Perhaps I'll just rejig the fake paypal notification and send it back > to 'em. > > Or google: MTCN receipt gilbert ..amazing what you can > find :-) > > I trust this thread serves as a resource for anyone else selling a > bike. (On ebay is a whole other adventure..not going anywhere near > that corporatised, lawless dump for such a transaction). Well I managed to 'scan" the "receipt"..Strange..my scanner created this massive 24 meg file. Oh well..attach and send it is then ;-) Best cc: both email addresses too. What else is bandwidth for ?
From: G-S on 19 Feb 2010 17:01 Nev.. wrote: > > Be careful. The people who investigate money-laundering & > terrorism-funding don't have much sense of humour. > > Nev.. > '08 DL1000K8 Nor it seems do some of the people who enforce the rules... Did you read about the 4 year old 'terrorist' who was forced to removed his leg braces to walk through security because they made the metal detectors go off? *ijuts* G-S
From: Yeebok on 19 Feb 2010 18:07 alx wrote: > On Feb 19, 12:31 pm, alx <alxr...(a)gmail.com> wrote: >> sheesh..bike is listed for less than an hour before the scammers latch >> on. >> >> So they want my paypal address for what reason? >> >> They Supplied dud mobile number but genuine address (interstate..in >> Melb which is, sort of.. near Darwin). >> > > So a summary to date of what the scam is:- > > 1. I advertise a bike for sale (Yes, I am legit and yes the bike is > real LOL). It is NOT listed on ebay. > > 2. Scammer contacts to buy via paypal, seeking my paypal address. > > 3. Some sob story about being OS etc etc > > 4. Provide "buyer" with fake email (eg douchebag(a)mypal.con) ) > > 5. Receive fake Paypal confirmation of payment received plus $750 plus > extra costs on top of the bike price. > > 6. More sob story about can I forward the difference via Western Union > Money Transfer to some address/person in UK (the "shipping agent"). > > Next step..I need to send them a MTCN# for Western Union to confirm I > "paid" (...yeah right) the shipping agent. > > Time to open a beer and dip a line in the water. > Sounds like you need to join up here .. you can have lots of fun. http://www.419eater.com/
From: alx on 19 Feb 2010 18:25
On Feb 20, 10:07 am, Yeebok <y...(a)yeeb.yeeb> wrote: > alx wrote: > > On Feb 19, 12:31 pm, alx <alxr...(a)gmail.com> wrote: > >> sheesh..bike is listed for less than an hour before the scammers latch > >> on. > > >> So they want my paypal address for what reason? > > >> They Supplied dud mobile number but genuine address (interstate..in > >> Melb which is, sort of.. near Darwin). > > > So a summary to date of what the scam is:- > > > 1. I advertise a bike for sale (Yes, I am legit and yes the bike is > > real LOL). It is NOT listed on ebay. > > > 2. Scammer contacts to buy via paypal, seeking my paypal address. > > > 3. Some sob story about being OS etc etc > > > 4. Provide "buyer" with fake email (eg douche...(a)mypal.con) ) > > > 5. Receive fake Paypal confirmation of payment received plus $750 plus > > extra costs on top of the bike price. > > > 6. More sob story about can I forward the difference via Western Union > > Money Transfer to some address/person in UK (the "shipping agent"). > > > Next step..I need to send them a MTCN# for Western Union to confirm I > > "paid" (...yeah right) the shipping agent. > > > Time to open a beer and dip a line in the water. > > Sounds like you need to join up here .. you can have lots of fun. > > http://www.419eater.com/ Yes, whenever I receive phishing scam for bank details, paypal, ebay and such I provide em fake details to waste their time, if I have nothing better to do. oh dear..had to resend the 36meg attachment of complete nonsense :-) Now it's embedded in my sent folder online it'll be much quicker to resend :-) |